For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!

AISSR Organisation

The Amsterdam Institute for Social Science Research (AISSR) unites all social science research of the University of Amsterdam and is the largest research institute on social sciences in the Netherlands.

The AISSR is located in the Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences (FMG), and includes four disciplines: Anthropology; Human Geography, Planning & International Development; Political Science and Sociology.

The mission of the Amsterdam Institute for Social Science Research (AISSR) is to stimulate the achievement of excellence in scholarly research in the social sciences, to build interdisciplinary and international research collaboration and to promote academic freedom. Our objectives are:

  1. To provide talented social scientists with an inspiring intellectual environment
  2. To foster theoretical and methodological pluralism and innovation
  3. To promote a culture of multidisciplinary and international collaboration
Read our mission statement

Programme groups: units of research

The research programme is organised into thirteen programmegroups anchored in one of the four disciplines. The programme groups are the primary units for academic staff in terms of research and teaching activities. All the programme groups falls under the general responsibility of the Academic Director.

Interdisciplinary centres: cooperation across the programme groups

Cooperation across the programme groups is institutionalised in interdisciplinary centres, covering topics such as Urban Studies; Global Health; European Studies; Inequality Studies; Migration & Ethnic Studies and Gender and Sexuality.

These centres foster activity across programme boundaries and are organised around research priority areas (universitaire onderzoekszwaartepunten) and research focus points (facultaire onderzoeksspeerpunten).